2016 Year-End Note

2016! What a beautiful year.

In life, there will be some particular years that are impossible to be forgotten. For me, 2016 is one of those years.

My 2016 started by stepping my feet into a new city, Turku, Finland. 1 January 2016, after a ±30-hours journey, entering a new city in its -6ºC weather (realfeel, -10ºC) seems a perfect new year right? Yes, I know, especially for someone who is coming from a city which is always in its 30ºC weather! Now, I couldn’t even describe how I was able to survive that freaking freezing -30ºC winter! *However, don’t worry Finland, I still love you. You have shown me the most beautiful winter wonderland! Snow, frozen lake and river, even a frozen sea. Too bad aurora was still shy with me*

In this year, I was able to experience new culture, study abroad for one semester, make many new friends, and travel to 24 cities in the world. Happy stories were also written when I completed my undergraduate study in time and graduated with cum laude. Then, again, when the year is closing, I received another happy news for my master study in 2018 (InshaAllah).

Based on the short story above, people might conclude “Oh, how lucky she is. She had a very joyful year without many struggles. Traveling, cum laude, scholarship”. Friends, you know that sad stories are not something that people would like to read, right?. People like to read happy news and beautiful stories, that’s why many people (including me) are giving what audience loves to read.

The truth is, 2016 has challenged me in a way that I could not even describe. 2016 dared me to show the best in me (emotionally and academically). Looking back at it, there were many moments in this year when I felt like I was at my wits’ end.

I couldn’t be more grateful that Allah was always with me. He pulled me back so that I didn’t drown to the situation. He made me able to swim back to the surface. Surprisingly, I learned so many things from those situation and entered a new zone. A zone full of new personal strengths. For me, this is why 2016 has become one of the unforgettable and the most beautiful years in my life.

Today, I am here, in a space where I utter less complaints. This is because I finally reached a stage where I totally believe that it’s about time and process. We can plan, we can work hard, but at the end, there is a Greater Planner who knows what’s best for us. The One who will give tests to all of us for our own benefits; to let us know our own limits and capabilities, and, of course, to see our degree of gratefulness. Let’s keep working, learning, and praying. By saying Alhamdulillah and Bismillah, let’s get our spirit up and keep our heart grounded so that we will have a meaningful year ahead 🙂

31 December 2016,

Intan Farhana

Leave a comment